2018 Award Finalist Release

<<  Visit Awards Main Page

Congratulations to the 4th Annual LTEN Excellence Awards Finalists!

Roanoke, VA, April 13, 2018  ̶   Finalists were announced today in the 4th Annual LTEN Excellence Awards, a national competition recognizing innovation and leadership in pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical device learning and development.

Award winners will be announced on Wednesday, June 13, 2018, at the 47th LTEN Annual Conference (www.LTENconference.com), the largest gathering of life science trainers and educators in the United States, taking place June 11-14, 2018, in Phoenix, AZ.

The awards are presented and sponsored by the Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network (LTEN), the world’s largest professional association of life sciences trainers and educators. The LTEN Excellence Awards honors life sciences training professionals in several categories, as well as designating LTEN Members of the Year.

Through the LTEN Excellence Awards competition, practitioners and suppliers enter learning initiatives and training content in various categories for recognition of excellence. The LTEN Excellence Awards was designed and developed in partnership with the LTEN Advisory Council and LTEN Board of Directors. The judging panel was comprised of experienced professionals working in the life sciences education and training field. Finalists are selected by a diverse group of life sciences training experts and thought leaders and, from that group of finalists, winners are awarded in each category.

The 2018 awards competition features a new category, Training for Change, honoring training leaders who have led initiatives to help guide their teams, departments or organization through times of change, such as mergers, restructurings, launches or business re-engineering. The award recognizes training’s role in agilely managing change and helping to create an environment for change and innovation. Award category descriptions and list of past winners are available at www.LTENconference.com/awards.

“We were excited to add a new category to this year’s awards program, Training for Change,” said Dawn Brehm, LTEN executive director. “Training departments play a major role in helping companies ensure the success of change processes and initiatives, and this new category helps to recognize that contribution, the hard work behind it and the people who make transformational change happen.”

The finalists in the year’s competition within the practitioner (trainer/educator) categories are:

Training for Change

  • Genentech, CMG Training & Development, BioOncology, Instructional Design Action Team ~ Leslie Waite
  •  Genentech, CMG Training & Development, 2017 Fall Offsite Action Team ~ Lily Suk
  • Genentech CMG Training & Development, BioOncology, Competitive Training ~ Scott Sugerman
  • Pharmacyclics, Sales Training Team ~ Claudia Bujold
  • Shire ~ Kim Murphy, Travis Gors, Dawn Burke

All-Star Team

 Amgen Repatha Sales, Marketing and Training Team

Team Members: Norma Piggott, Executive Director Global Commercial Learning and Development; Laura Last Director Global Learning and Performance; Charles Gardner, Senior Manager Global Learning and Performance; and Kelvin Stover, Global Senior Learning and Performance Manager

 AstraZeneca CVMD Training Team

Team Members: Cathy Dantzman, Commercial Clinical Training Manager; Donna Weatherford Brown, Sr. Trainer; Anna Roetker, Trainer; Amy Horan, Trainer; Chris Staino, Trainer; Kelly Walton, Trainer; Tony Papola, Trainer; Chris Quinn, Director Commercial Learning and Development CVMD and Renal

Bayer HealthCare Sales Training Technology Team

Team Members: Jessica Labita, Deputy Director; Luciana Cotten, Content Team Lead; Klara Zdenkova, Graphic Designer; Tarsha Adeyemi, Content Developer; Dina Bassin, Graphic Designer; Stacey Andretta, LMS Team Lead; Latasha Lovick, LMS Coordinator; Michele Vitiello, LMS Coordinator; Lauren Scott, LMS Coordinator; and Marvin Lee, LMS Coordinator

Genentech Immunology & Ophthalmology (GIO) Lucentis/Xolair Training Teams

Team Members: Mark Jarvis, ‎Associate Director of Training; Kristi Ciro-Baumann, Principal Training Manager; Michelle Soto, Manager; Vince Cavaliere, Senior Trainer; Clare Killeen, Senior Trainer; and Julie Walsh, Senior Training Coordinator

GlaxoSmithKline North America Veeva CRM Deployment Training Team

Team Members: Arnie Cooper, Regional Sales Director & GSK Training Prime; Adam Friedman, Sr. Director Enterprise Field Operations; Jackie Tice, Director Enterprise Field Operations; Keith Rhodes, Director Enterpise Field Systems; and Ann Garrett, Enterprise Field Specialist

Teva Pharmaceuticals Commercial Training and Development

Team Members: Jon Miller, VP of Training Development & Sales Effectiveness Chloe Bangs, Sr. Training Specialist; Jennifer Bryan, Director – Therapeutic Lead; Melissa Butera, Manager of Professional Development; Olivia Carney, Digital Learning & Technology Specialist; Mildred Colon, Training Manager – Oncology; Cynthia Condodina, Director of Professional Development & Market Access; Deirdre Ehinger, Executive Coordinator; Alain Gravel, Training Manager – TCI; Wesley Hamm, Learning Technology & Product Launch; Michael Kelly, POA/New Product Launch; Charles Gurera, Senior Manager Training – Market Access; Angela Nordhus, Manager TN Training; Anna Pidlisny, Sr Sales Training Specialist – Respiratory; Jeff Riggs Associate Director – CNS Training; Rachel Rowley, Strategic Operations & Learning Technologies; John Severoni, Manager for CNS East; John Strachan, Instructional Designer; David Sunshine, Associate Director – Respiratory; and Helen Wirstiuk, Senior Sales Training

Emerging Leader

  • Kristin Costa, Siemens Healthineers
  • Shelby Guhl, Siemens Healthineers
  • Matt Kloss, Baxter Healthcare
  • Ben Newman, Shire
  • Gregg Rogers, Grifols


  • Baxter Healthcare ~ Ashley Bentley
  • Bayer HealthCare ~ Klara Zdenkova
  • Bayer HealthCare ~ Luciana Cotten
  • Gilead Sciences CL&D, Learning Technologies Team ~ Aleshni Singh, Devesh Srivastava and Jona Prasanth Kota
  • GlaxoSmithKline ~ Bryan Wilson
  • Janssen Pharmaceuticals Research & Development ~ Nigel Hughes
  • Philips Healthcare ~ Greg Adamson
  • UCB ~ Lisa Lukawski

Provider categories include Innovation, Partnership and Learning Content. Finalists for the provider (training supplier) categories are:


  • Knowledge Anywhere ~ Tonya Smyth
  • Maestro ~ Courtney Noonan
  • Proficient Learning ~ Pam Marinko
  • Scrimmage ~ Derek Lundsten
  • Tipping Point Media ~ William Garner

Learning Content

  • AdMed ~ Joan Francy
  • Flywheel Partners ~ Jeffrey McMahon
  • IC Axon ~ Carole Gins
  • Illuminate ~ Shaun McMahon, Illuminate and Kel Greene, Gilead
  • Red Nucleus ~ Ian Kelly
  • TalentSmart ~ Lac Su

Industry Partner

  • Axiom ~ Michael Ballas
  • CMR Institute ~ Michelle O’Connor
  • Informa Training Partners ~ Evelyn Nichols
  • Quantum Learning ~ Fred Marshall
  • Scrimmage ~ Derek Lundsten

For more information on the LTEN Excellence Awards, please visit www.LTENconference.com/awards.



The Life Sciences Trainers & Educators Network (www.L-TEN.org) is the only global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization specializing in meeting the needs of life sciences learning professionals.  LTEN shares the knowledge of industry leaders, provides insight into new technologies, offers innovative solutions and communities of practice that grow careers and organizational capabilities. Founded in 1971, LTEN has grown to more than 1,900 individual members who work in pharmaceutical, biotech, medical device and diagnostic companies, and industry partners who support the life sciences training departments.


For more information, contact Nannette Nolan, LTEN director of marketing communications, at nnolan@L-TEN.org.

<<  Visit Awards Main Page

Translate »